Freedom’s just another word… Kai Nagata’s not taking it anymore

There’s a wave of interest in a Canadian man’s blog entry about his voluntary departure from a network CTV journalism job. Kai Nagata, 24, wrote a heartfelt tome (3K words!) that was incisive, heartfelt and pretty much sums up (for me) that a lot of us are suffering this crisis of conscience as we observe what’s happening to truth-telling as a profession (as in, bill-paying) fields.

He says it best, so grab a coffee and take yourself through it. But if you don’t have time, here’s his exit paragraph:

“What I need is to better myself spiritually, physically, and intellectually, so I can effect meaningful change in the world around me. I don’t know yet where this impulse will take me, but I know I can’t go back to working parallel to the real problems, hiding my opinions and yet somehow hoping that one viewer every night might piece together what I wanted to say. I thought if I paid my dues and worked my way up through the ranks, I could maybe reach a position of enough influence and credibility that I could say what I truly feel. I’ve realized there’s no time to wait.

If storytelling turns out to be my true passion and the best use of my skills, then I’ll continue down that path. If elder care, academia, agriculture, activism, art, education, Budo, or as-yet unforeseen pursuits turn out to make the flame burn brighter, I’ll make the switch, or do them all. I’m willing to work with anyone of any religion or political stripe, if they’re sincere about doing what it takes.

Right now I need to undertake a long-delayed journey of personal discovery. Having given away all the possessions that didn’t fit into my truck, I’ve set out on the road again, heading West. I know I need to go home for a while. I need to surround myself with family and friends. I need to consult, meditate, and plan the next steps.

I’m broke, and yet I know I’m rich in love. I’m unemployed and homeless, but I’ve never been more free.

Everything is possible.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

